Black Children Matter

MInutes ago, it was announced that the officer who murdered 12 year old Tamir Rice in Ohio last year would not face charges. At this moment–I have outrage, I have grief, I have disgust–but I have no new words to offer. Instead, I offer the words I wrote last month, at the one-year anniversary of Tamir’s killing. The essence of the piece: “Black children matter. Such a basic statement–but one that demands the entire restructuring of our society, a society which is built on the premise that only certain lives matter, and other lives are dispensable.”

View from the donkey's saddle

I didn’t know who Nicholas Heywood Jr was. Not really. I had heard his name raised up in demonstrations and marches for Mike Brown, Eric Garner. I had seen posters with his photograph and was saddened by the youthful, smiling face staring back at me, a smile that I understood had been brutally extinguished.

But I had never truly contemplated who Nicholas was, this boy who had been snatched from his family.  Exactly how, and exactly where, and exactly when, was Nicholas’s smile extinguished?

Tamir 12-year old Tamir Rice, murdered by police one year ago in Cleveland.

Yesterday, we marched. The march was for 12-year old Tamir Rice, to remember and demand accountability for what happened exactly one year ago, when Tamir was playing with a toy gun in a Cleveland, OH park and two police officers shot Tamir within two seconds of their arrival. The boy fell. No first aid…

View original post 476 more words

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Black Children Matter

  1. Pingback: Jen Marlowe: Black Children Matter : Samara Lectures

Leave a Reply

